MREA’s membership elected five directors to the 2018 MREA Board of Directors during December elections. These directors, along with new appointments, brings the total of new and returning directors this year to eight.

More than 330 ballots were cast for the five elected positions. All these directors will formally join the Board at its March meeting, along with a newly appointed director for a South Central Zone school board representative. Most of these directors will serve 4-year terms from 2018-2021.

The Board will elect the President-Elect and Secretary/Treasurer positions and appoint the fifth member of the Executive Committee at its March meeting. Todd Holthaus, Superintendent with Hills-Beaver Creek Schools, replaces Rick Frederickson as Board President.

New Directors

Cliff Carmody
Agency Representative, South

Cliff Carmody returns to the board after a four-year break. He is executive director of Southwest-West Central Service Cooperative in Marshall. He has served the coop since 1999 and previously worked for Pipestone, Chaska, and Cambridge-Isanti schools. His experience includes administration, teaching, and coaching along with serving the Southwest Minnesota Initiative Foundation and Avera Marshall Regional Medical Center.

Gary Gauldin
School Board Representative, North Central Zone

Gary Gauldin has served 50 years  in public education, with experience as a high school teacher, coach, high school principal. He has also served on the Park Rapids school board for 12 years. He is  interested in vocational and technical carer education and concurrent enrollment.

Susan Knutson
Teacher Representative, South Central Zone

Susan Knutson is a College-in-the-Schools (CIS) Teacher and licensed school counselor with Eden Valley-Watkins school district. She has 23 years of experience in education, including working with special populations. She has served as an Emotional Behavioral Disorder Teacher and 504 Coordinator, CTE/Perkins Coordinator and Concurrent Enrollment Liaison, and ran the EVW Alternative Learner Program.

Tim Lutz
Administrator Representative, North Zone

Tim Lutz, superintendent with Kelliher schools, is in his 10th year serving this district. He worked in the business sector before joining the education sector, working in Twin Valley and Goodridge schools as a teacher, counselor and principal. An active member of MREA and the Minnesota Association for School Administrators (MASA), he has valuable experience developing policy and lobbying for education.

Wendy Schoolmeester
Higher Education Representative, South

Wendy Schoolmeester is a professor of education at Southwest Minnesota State University in Marshall and brings over 30 years in the education profession to the board. Before her move to higher education she was teacher, coach, and principal at the elementary school level. She is starting her sixth year serving on the school board for Pipestone Area Schools.

Matt Schultz
At-Large Representative, South Zone

Mark Schultz is in his second year as Superintendent at Lanesboro Public Schools and has served in public education in three communities in rural southeast Minnesota. He served as the activities director for Red Wing Public Schools for eight years. A Cambridge native, he also was teacher, activities director and assistant football and baseball coach in the Cannon Falls school district.

Returning Director

Kelly Berg
Teacher Representative, North Zone

Kelly Berg has served the last 8 years on both MREA’s Legislative Action Committee and Board of Directors. A kindergarten teacher in East Grand Forks, her early childhood expertise brings another perspective to the board as it advocates for Pre-K education in Minnesota.

Join the discussion 2 Comments