Eighteen individuals are vying for six open positions on MREA’s Board of Directors effective January 1, 2020. Each of MREA’s four membership zones will have one to two open positions.

Candidates will be introduced at the MREA 2019 Annual Meeting on November 19, and ballots will be mailed late November to each full member. Administrator, school board, and teacher groups in each full member district will each have one ballot to cast their votes for open positions in their respective zones.

Vacancies and Candidates

North Zone

School Board Representative (4-Year Term)

  • Pollyann Sorcan, School Board Director, Eveleth-Gilbert

View North Zone Candidate Statement of Interest

North Central Zone

Administrator Representative (4-Year Term)

  • Vern Capelle, Superintendent, Upsala
  • Jeff Drake, Superintendent, Fergus Falls
  • Brandon Lunak, Superintendent, Moorhead
  • Jonathan Moore, PreK-12 Principal, Ashby
  • Aaron Nelson, High School Principal, Pequot Lakes
  • Rob Nudell, Superintendent/Elementary Principal, Norman County East
  • Mike Schmidt, High School Principal, Staples
  • Aaron Sinclair,Superintendent, Sauk Rapids-Rice
  • Scott Vedbraaten, Superintendent, Browerville

View North Central Zone Candidates’ Statements of Interest

South Central Zone

At-Large Representative (4-Year Term)

  • Rick Bleichner, Superintendent, Herman-Norcross
  • Bob Hennen, High School Principal, Watertown-Mayer
  • Susan Knutson, Secondary Principa,l West Central Area
  • Dennis Laumeyer, Superintendent, Benson
  • Earl Molden, School Board Director, Lac Qui Parle Valley

Teacher Representative (2-Year Term)

  • Tammy Roth, Licensed School Counselor, Morris

View South Central Zone Candidates’ Statements of Interest

South Zone

Administrator Representative  (4-Year Term)

  • Todd Holthaus, Superintendent, Hills-Beaver Creek

Teacher Representative (4-Year Term)

  • Joe Cerar, Social Studies Teacher, Plainview-Elgin-Millview

View South Zone Candidates’ Statements of Interest