35 Years as Voice
of Greater Minnesota Education

MREA changed the education and legislative landscapes in 1985 when it formed to bring a unified voice for rural education.

In 2020, we celebrate the founders and those leaders who carried a revolutionary vision forward in Minnesota and look back at the pivotal moments in MREA’s history.

What has made MREA successful over the past 35 years is one unconventional decision that the founders made before the organization’s inception. They committed to bringing together school administrators, board members and teachers to advocate for what puts learners first. View timeline of key milestones.

MREA gathered some of the founders and influential leaders to share what they see as the most pivotal moments. MREA is sharing their stories and videos throughout 2020.

Pivotal Moments

Founding Board of Directors

Phil Dyrud, Administrator, Middle River
Donald Meyers, Administrator, Fridley
Pat Mohn, Administrator, Amboy-Good Thunder
Harold Remme, Administrator, Tracy
DuWayne Balken, Agency, Fergus Falls
Pam Krueger, Agency, Fergus Falls
Dean Swanson, Agency, Rochester
Jon Bachman, School Board,Frazee
Bruce Kasden, School Board, Moose Lake
Julie Meech, School Board, Sebeka
Olav Thormodson, School Board, Madelia
Geraldyn Erickson, Teacher, Sacred Heart
Keigh Hubel, Higher Ed, Marshall
Stan Knox, Higher Ed, St. Cloud