Who’s Eligible?

Educators need to be directly involved in E-12 education, teach in a current MREA member school organizations, have at least 7 years of teaching experience, and be employed under the terms of a teacher master agreement. View Member Districts

Who can nominate?

School staff, colleagues, students, parents or community members may submit nominations.

View Past Honorees

View Video Stories

What’s the selection process?

  • Nominations categorized into MREA’s four member zones.
  • Judges review all nominations within each zone.
  • One honoree will be selected from each zone.

Important Dates

  • January 31: Nomination Deadline
  • Late March: Honoree Notification
  • November 17: Awards Banquet

MREA’s Educator of Excellence Award recognizes educators in Greater Minnesota who serve as inspiring examples by demonstrating:

  • Positive impact on students and student achievement
  • Leadership in the school, district and community
  • Innovative and creative instructional practice that impact all students
  • Collaborative efforts with fellow educators, parents, families and the community

View Past Honorees

Complete the form to nominate an educator from Greater Minnesota.

Thank you for your interest in nominating an Educator of Excellence.

2024 Nominations are now closed.

Check out our past award recipients.

Educators of Excellence - Baird and ICS