The House and Senate announced bill deadlines on Thursday that lead up to the official end of session on May. 22. According to a memo from House Speaker Kurt Daudt (R-Crown) and Senate Majority Leader Paul Gazelka (R-Nisswa), the committee deadlines are:

  • March 10 — Committees must act favorably on bills in the house of origin
  • March 17 — Committees must act favorably on bills, or companion bills, that met the first deadline in the other house
  • March 31 — Committees must act favorably on major appropriation and finance bills

Following committee deadlines, the bulk of the Legislature’s work shifts to the floors of the House and Senate. Legislators are constitutionally required to adjourn the 2017 session by May 22.