Balance Local ControlStudent Opportunity Gaps

21 Candidates Vying for MREA Board

By November 8, 2015 No Comments

Twenty-one individuals are vying for six open positions on MREA’s 2016 Board of Directors. All four membership zones will have at least one open position as of Jan. 1, 2016. View a list of the candidates for each of the zones below and read their election statements.

Candidates will introduce themselves to MREA membership at the Annual Meeting on Nov. 17. Ballots will be mailed late November to each full member and must be return-postmarked to the MREA Office by Dec. 31. View the vacancy announcement.

Vacancies and Candidates

North Zone
School Board Representative                            4-year term

  • Karen Christianson, Mesabi East, School Board Member
  • Stephen Murray, Tri-County, School Board Member
  • Mike Vasek, Fisher, School Board Member

Read Candidate Statements for North Zone

North Central Zone
School Administrator Representative             4-year term

  • Lance Bagstad, Park Rapids, Superintendent
  • Jeff Bisek, Mahnomen, Superintendent
  • Stephen Jones, Little Falls, Superintendent
  • Jerry Ness, Fergus Falls, Superintendent

School Teacher Representative                           3-year term

  • Craig Bahr, Detroit Lakes, Teacher
  • Louise Bass, Laporte, Teacher
  • Brandon Borich, Princeton, Teacher
  • Michelle Koch, Menahga, Teacher

View Candidate Statements for North Central Zone

South Central Zone 
At-Large Representative                                           4-year term

  • Douglas Brands, Worthington, Teacher
  • Steve Brisendine, Willmar, Community Ed Director
  • Bruce Houck, Hendricks, Superintendent
  • Kathryn Kelly, Olivia, SWWC Board
  • Dennis Laumeyer, Benson, Superintendent

View Candidate Statements for South Central Zone

South Zone
School Teacher Representative                               4-year term

  • Lee Carlson, St. James, Teacher

School Administrator Representative                  4-year term

  • Bill Adams, Janesville-Waldorf-Pemberton, Superintendent
  • Joe Brown, Fairmont, Superintendent
  • Todd Holthaus, Hills Beaver Creek, Superintendent
  • Joel Timmerman,  Jackson County Central, Principal

Read Candidate Statements for South Zone