Nineteen individuals are vying for four positions open January 1 on MREA’s Board of Directors. Three of MREA’s four membership zones will have vacancies.

Candidates will be introduced at the MREA 2020 Annual Meeting on November 17, and ballots will be mailed late November to each full member. Administrator, school board, and teacher groups in each full member district will each have one ballot to cast their votes for open positions in their respective zones. Ballots must be postmarked by December 31.

Vacancies and Candidates

North Central Zone

At-Large Representative (4-Year Term 2021-2024)

  • Lance Bagstad, Superintendent, Park Rapids
  • Vern Capelle, Superintendent, Upsala
  • Mark Diehl, Director of Information and Technology, Little Falls
  • Mike McNulty, Superintendent, Barnum
  • Scott Vedbraaten, Superintendent, Browerville

School Board Representative (1-Year Term 2021)

  • Kimberly Antonsen, Frazee-Vergas
  • Aaron Berg, Cambridge-Isanti
  • Lisa Braun, Sauk Rapids
  • Abby Geotz, Crosby-Ironton
  • Deb Ulm, Princeton

View North Central Zone Candidates’ Statements of Interest

South Central Zone

Administrator Representative (4-Year Term 2021-2024)

  • Kyle Edgerton, Superintendent, Campbell-Tintah
  • Maureen Heinecke, Principal, Lac Qui Parle Valley
  • Jeff Horton, Superintendent, Gibbon-Fairfax-Winthrop
  • Mark Miley, Principal, Willmar
  • Melissa Sparks, 7-12 Principal, MACCRAY
  • Patrick Walsh, Superintendent, Belgrade-Brooten-Elrosa

View South Central Zone Candidates’ Statements of Interest

South Zone

School Board Representative  (4-Year Term 2021-2024)

  • Jim Jensen, Triton
  • Jake Thompson, Plainview-Elgin-Millville

View South Zone Candidates’ Statements of Interest