MREA announced today the 2018 Educators of Excellence for Greater Minnesota. Join us in recognizing the work and passion of these honorees:









  • North: Lois Lewis, Family and Consumer Sciences Teacher at South Koochiching Rainy River Schools
  • North Central: Lisa Coborn, Area Learning Center Coordinator at Park Rapids Public Schools
  • South Central: Tyler Warren, Agriculture Teacher at Eden Valley-Watkins High School
  • South: Bob Bonin, Welding Academy Teacher and Small Engines Automotive Teacher at Fairmont Area Schools

MREA will share their stories in the coming weeks and honor the 2018 honorees at the Annual Awards Banquet on Nov. 12 at Cragun’s on Gull Lake near Brainerd. The awards banquet will be held in conjunction with MREA’s Annual Conference on Engaging Students Now. Learn more and register.

“It’s a privilege to highlight and honor these educators who are inspiring students by implementing new practices, fostering collaboration and getting results,” said Fred Nolan, executive director of MREA and former teacher, principal and superintendent in Minnesota.

The MREA Board of Directors reviewed nominations categorized by four main geographic zones in Minnesota and selected the 2018 Educators of Excellence based on their impact, innovation, leadership and collaboration. The 2018 awards are sponsored in partnership with Robert W. Baird & Co. Learn more about the award, the honorees and nominate an educator for 2019.

“Each year, we see a ripple effect as these educators ignite innovation in Greater Minnesota education, ” Nolan said. “By sharing their experience, they show others how to engage and equip today’s learners for their best possible futures.”

MREA is the only advocate exclusively for Greater Minnesota schools. Under the leadership of school board members, administrators, teachers and community members, MREA focuses on what puts first the education, growth, and development of learners to bring about our best possible future. MREA’s membership represents about 230 school districts in Minnesota. Learn more.