MREA’s Board of Directors elected three new directors to its Executive Committee last month to lead the organization’s focus on rural education and prioritizing learner needs.

The Board held its meeting February 6-7 at the Lower Sioux Indian Community near Morton. Prior to the meeting, directors toured Cansayapi Wicoicage Oti, the intergenerational cultural incubator facility that opened in 2022. The building name translates literally as “place for generations” in the Dakota language and features gathering spaces for youth, adults, and elders while supporting entrepreneurial development and education. MREA directors also met with staff and board members from the Professional Educator Licensing and Standards Board (PELSB).

MREA Board’s composition is a unique blend of school board members, school administrators, teachers and education leaders. The board has 22 directors from throughout Minnesota – 16 directors elected by membership (four per zone) and 6 directors appointed by the Board.

The Board’s President and President-Elect automatically ascend to new Past President and President positions. Directors then elect a new President-Elect, Secretary-Treasurer and At-Large member. MREA is grateful for the leadership of these directors in 2024:

Michelle Rinke Koch

Board President

Michelle Rinke Koch
High School Principal
Menahga School District

Boyd Bradbury

 Board President-Elect

Dr. Boyd Bradbury
Minnesota State University | Moorhead

Board Secretary-Treasurer

Jeff Drake
Fergus Falls School District

Jim_Ferden_MREA Board

Board Past President

Jim Ferden
School Board Chair
Win-E-Mac School District


Executive Committee At Large

Karla Beck
Director of Teaching and Learning
Redwood Area School District