MREA recently named new officers for its Board of Directors. The Board met January 30-31 in St. Paul and elected officers for one-year terms.

MREA has 223 member school districts and speaks on behalf of 237,800 students. Under the leadership of the Board of Directors, MREA successfully provides advocacy for equitable school funding, enhanced teacher quality and availability, and integrated early learning programs.

2017 Officers

Rick Frederickson

Rick Frederickson serves as a school board member for Windom Public Schools while running a technology firm. Read more.

Todd Holthaus

Holthaus has been Superintendent of Hills-Beaver Creek (HBC) since 2012 and also serves as K-12 Principal. He is serving his second year of a four-year term after being appointed to the board in 2014.

Patty Stangl

Stangl is Chair of the Pierz School Board where she has served for 14 years. She is starting her fourth year on the MREA Board. She also serves as Clerk on the Governing Board of the Mid-State Education District and has helped lead them for 10 years.

At-Large Representative
Luther Heller

Heller has served as superintendent at Montevideo Public Schools for eight years. He holds a doctorate in educational administration from the University of Nebraska and has served on the governing boards for MREA, Minnesota Association of School Administrators, and American Association of School Administrators. He is serving his final term on the Board.

Past President
Jeremy Kovash

Kovash leads the Lakes Country Service Cooperative as Executive Director, where he has been for 11 years. He began his educational career teaching at Perham Schools. He is serving his final year on the MREA Board.