Student Opportunity Gaps

New Leadership Announced in Legislature

By November 17, 2012 No Comments

Since the election, the four caucuses have chosen their leaders. Here’s a rundown:

  • Senate Majority Leader –   Senator Tom Baak (DFL – Cook)
  • Senate Minority Leader – Senator David Hann (R – Eden Prairie)
  • Speaker of the House – Rep. Paul Thissen (DFL – Minneapolis)
  • House Majority Leader – Rep. Erin Murphy (DFL – St. Paul)
  • House Minority Leader – Rep. Kurt Daudt (R – Crown)

In addition to leadership positions, the Senate and House have named their committee chairs for the upcoming session:

  • Senate E-12 Finance Division Chair – Sen. Chuck Wiger (Maplewood)
  • Senate Education Policy Committee Chari – Sen. Patricia Torres Ray (Minneapolis)
  • House K-12 Finance Committee Chair – Paul Marquart (Dilworth)
  • House K-12 Education Policy Chair – Carlos Mariani (St. Paul)
  • House Early Childhood and Youth Development Policy Chair – Rep. Joe Mullery (Minneapolis)

View a directory of the newly elected House and Senate members.