Other Rural News

New MREA Board Officers Elected

By March 13, 2015 No Comments

The MREA Board of Directors met for its regular meeting March 3 and elected new officers for 2015. Officers elected by the Board for 1-year terms are:

  • Dr. Christopher Mills, Board President, Stephen
  • Jeremy Kovash, President-Elect, Fergus Falls
  • Darren Glynn, Secretary-Treasurer, Perham
  • Mike Vasek, Past-President, Fischer

Luther Heller, Montevideo, will serve with the officers on the MREA Executive Committee.

“I not only look forward to working with this board, but also with the greater Minnesota public school districts that make up MREA,” said Dr. Mills, MREA Board president and Superintendent for Stephen-Argyle Central Schools. “Bringing awareness to our rural education needs and improving our opportunities will be a priority to benefit to students throughout Greater Minnesota.”

MREA has 199 school district members and speaks on behalf of 185,000 students. Under the leadership of the Board of Directors, MREA successfully provides leadership advocating for equitable school facility financing, enhanced teacher quality and availability, integrated early learning programs, and a balance of local control and state accountability.