Student Opportunity Gaps

Newly Elected Directors Join MREA Board

By January 19, 2015 No Comments

MREA’s Board of Directors will see new and familiar faces at its next Board meeting, thanks to MREA membership who elected two new directors and re-elected two directors to the Board during elections in December 2014. The Board also appointed a new director at its December 2014 meeting.

New Directors

Todd HolthausTodd Holthaus, Administrator Representative, South Zone (1-yr. term)

Holthaus was appointed by the MREA Board in July 2014 to finish out the remaining calendar year for director Todd Meyer who resigned. Holthaus has now been elected by the membership to serve the remaining 1-year term of this South Zone position. Read more about Holthaus’ appointment.


Heather McLaganHeather McLagan, School Board Representative, South Central Zone (4-yr term)

McLagan has served on the school board for Renville County West since 2013. She is the owner of a children’s and women’s maternity store and is a licensed child care provider. A graduate of Ely Public Schools, McLagan earned a degree in Automotive Technology from Ridgewater College in Willmar and is a certified coach for Special Olympics of Minnesota.


Karen JacobsonKaren Jacobson, Minnesota Education District Association Representative (4-yr. term)

Jacobson was appointed by the MREA Board to fill the new position of Minnesota Education District Association (MEDA) Representative. The education districts in Minnesota formed MEDA and formally joined as an association after MREA members approved a by-laws change at the 2014 Annual Meeting in November. Read the news article welcoming ed districts to  MREA.

Jacobson grew up in the Twin Cities and moved to rural Minnesota more than 30 years ago. Her children are graduates of Yellow Medicine East schools, and the good education they received there has made her well aware of the “disparities between metro and rural schools.” With a master’s degree in education, she has managed a drug and alcohol prevention program and managed grants for the Southwest Minnesota Initiative Foundation. She joined Minnesota River Valley Education District in 2001 as Assistant Director and became Director in 2007.

 Returning Directors

Scott VedbraatenScott Vedbraaten, At-Large Representative, North Zone (4-yr term)

Vedbraaten, Superintendent for Browerville Schools, is a permanent resident in the Marshall County Central school district. He was re-elected for his second 4-year term. He also served as MREA Board President in 2013.



Mark Frank MenahgaMark Frank, Teacher Representative, North Central Zone (4-yr term)
Frank served a 1-year term in 2014 to finish out the term of director Dawn Koennecke who resigned. A teacher in Menahga, Frank now serves his first 4-year term.

Board to Elect Executive Committee in March

The election results took effect January 1, and new members will formally join the Board at its meeting March 2-3 in the Twin Cities. The Board at this meeting will elect the President-Elect and Secretary/Treasurer positions and appoint the fifth member of the Executive Committee. Dr. Chris Mills, Superintendent in Stephen-Argyle, replaces Mike Vasek, School Board Chair in Fisher, as Board President. Read the news article on Dr. Mills.