MREA Announces 2023 Award Honorees

November 8, 2023

Minnesota Rural Education Association (MREA) has announced the award honorees to be celebrated Sunday, November 12 at its 2023 MREA Awards Ceremony. The banquet kicks off MREA’s Greater Education Summit at Cragun’s Resort in Brainerd.

The awards celebrate and showcase the incredible work happening in Greater Minnesota school districts. Each spring, MREA solicits and reviews nominations for Educators of Excellence and Innovation Program.


2023 MREA Edcuators of Excellence

MREA presents the Educator of Excellence Awards to recognize, reward, and promote excellence in education that achieves the highest outcomes for Greater Minnesota students. This award honors inspiring educators who demonstrate positive impact on students, leadership in the school and community, and innovative instruction.

The 2023 MREA Educators of Excellence are:

  • Kristin Doeden // Worthington School District // South Zone  //  See her story
  • Carin Hagemeyer // Belgrade-Brooten-Elrosa School District // South Central Zone  //  See her story
  • Angie Hurtig // Bertha-Hewitt School District // North Central Zone  //  See her story
  • Melissa Oberg // Cook County School District // North Zone  //  See her story

MREA Educator of Excellence Awards are made possible by sponsors Baird and ICS.


MREA celebrates innovative programs in rural districts with the Innovation Program Awards. Programs throughout MREA member districts are nominated and then selected by the MREA Board of Directors based on core criteria of innovation, benefit to students, collaboration, and ease of adaptability.

The 2023 Innovation Program Award honorees are:

MREA will share the stories and celebrate the work of award honorees at the 2023 MREA Awards Ceremony on November 12 at Cragun’s Resort in Brainerd. The Awards Ceremony kicks off the MREA Greater Education Summit, a conference for rural education leaders to come together to learn, celebrate, and network.

MREA Innovation Program Awards are made possible by sponsor InGensa.

To watch the Awards Ceremony livestream from November 12, visit