MREA is pleased to announce the 2021 Educators of Excellence and recognize them for their resilience, leadership, and innovation in Greater Minnesota public education.

2021 Honorees

(pictured left to right)

  • North Central: Dr. Jackie Stevens, Mora Public Schools

  • South:  Howard Van Otterloo, Janesville-Waldorf-Pemberton Public Schools

  • North: Kristen Schwarz, Fisher Public Schools

  • South Central: John VanKempen, West Central Area Public Schools

MREA will share their stories and honor them at the Annual Awards Banquet on Nov. 14, kicking off MREA’s 2021 Annual Conference: Rural Strong. The banquet will be live-streamed by Captivate Media.

“It was an incredible honor to travel the state this spring to meet these Educators of Excellence. They each have a story of how they’ve continued to excel, innovate, and serve in Greater Minnesota public schools, despite the challenging circumstances,” MREA Executive Director Bob Indihar said. “We’re lucky to have them as role models for our students and look forward to showcasing their efforts at our Annual Conference.”

The MREA Board of Directors reviewed nominations from four geographic zones in Minnesota and selected the 2021 Educators of Excellence based on their impact, innovation, leadership and collaboration. The 2021 awards are sponsored by ICS and Baird.  Learn more about the award. Watch videos of past honorees and the impact they’re having.

MREA is the only advocate exclusively for Greater Minnesota schools. Under the leadership of school board members, administrators, teachers and community members, MREA focuses on what puts first the education, growth, and development of learners to bring about our best possible future. MREA’s membership represents about 230 school districts in Minnesota. Learn more.